Peeving Las Vegas

‘Las Vegas’ is Spanish for ‘The Meadows’. This explains why it’s such a good place for gambolling.

I’m going to Vegas on Wednesday for the American Copy Editors Society annual conference. (For some reason, a lot of conferences are held there.) We’ll share tricks of the trade and chew over issues that arise in editing and how to handle them. I daresay we may chat about our grammar and usage pet peeves, and how mine are eminently reasonable and everyone else’s are outdated dogmas.

The American Copy Editors Society seems like a good thing. True, I’m not actually American, but I decided to exploit an ambiguity in the name: is it a society of American copy editors or an American society of copy editors? Hopefully the latter.

This will be my first trip to the US – in fact, my first trip out of Europe – so I’m looking forward to finding out what the place is really like. I’m sure Vegas is bound to be representative of the whole country.

But I’m not much of a traveller, not much of a sightseer. Even less of a gambler. The genuinely exciting bit for me is the conference. The line-up of sessions looks really interesting, and there are a lot of editors I slightly know online who it’ll be great to meet in person.

So, in between shopping and packing and making lists, I’m trying to get myself into an American mindset. Color center trashcan aluminum gray sidewalk defense yee-haw!

And I’m really going to enjoy spending some quiet time in those meadows.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • suejansons  On March 15, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    You are in for a big surprise…….. Lol

  • le cul en rows  On March 15, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    A thing Americans love: puns requiring the knowledge of foreign languages. You’re going to fit right in!

    (Seriously, don’t think that LV is representative of any part of American culture, except possibly the excess. And remember that what happens in Vagueness, stays in Vagueness.)

  • Kory Stamper  On March 16, 2014 at 4:01 am

    “I’m sure Vegas is bound to be representative of the whole country.”

    Pretty much, only with slightly more nudity and way fewer white tigers.

  • datmama4  On March 16, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    Oh, my goodness. I can’t imagine what our (my) country would look like if Lost Wages were representative of anywhere in the US, other than itself. However, the saying goes, “If you can’t find what you’re looking for in Las Vegas, it doesn’t exist.”

    Don’t forget to have your picture taken with an Elvis impersonator. I’m sure you’ll have your choice of young, trim Elvis, or older, sequinned-jumpsuit Elvis.

    Have a great trip!

  • Laura Whittemore  On March 17, 2014 at 12:48 am

    See you there! My first conference and second trip to Vegas. I needed 8 years to recover from the first one.

  • H. E. Saunders  On March 18, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    Welcome to the US! Hopefully you’ll get the chance to explore beyond Vegas. Definitely a city of…well, you’ll see. ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 480 other followers

