Add absurdum

How can somebody be a ‘Sales and Marketing Executive’ and think that the short form of advertisement is spelt A-D-D?

I shared this forehead-slapper with a colleague who appreciates these things but is far less bitter and jaded than me. She said (after she’d stopped laughing) that language is constantly evolving and that we have to be open to new developments.

Well, yes, but sometimes you get a mutant baby that just has to be smothered at birth.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Rantings of a delusional mind  On October 30, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    “I shared this forehead-slapper with a colleague who appreciates these things but is far less bitter and jaded than me.”

    shouldn’t the correct sentence end in: “less bitten and jaded than I am”? response awaited.

  • Tom Freeman  On October 30, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Some would say so. And in more formal writing I might lean that way myself. But here, I preferred avoiding the extra word and ending on a punchier note.

