Grammar haiku win / Win win win win win win win / Did I mention win?

After four glorious years of failure, I’ve won the annual Grammar Day Tweeted Haiku Contest!

Organised by the American Copy Editors Society, the contest is pretty self-explanatory: you tweet a haiku about grammar, and then you tweet half a dozen more, and then maybe one of them turns out to be kind of OK. And apparently it did:

I also took fifth place with this one:

So I guess that means that on average I’m third?

Anyway, I’m thrilled to bits. My thanks to ACES (especially Mark Allen) and the judges (Adriana Cloud, Corrie Loeffler, Laura Poole, Carol Saller and Karen Yin), and my awe to the other entrants (as always, there are some truly brilliant little works of beauty and genius).

These are my efforts from previous years:

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • oneta hayes  On March 4, 2016 at 11:01 pm

    These are all good, and I agree that the first is awesome, first class haiku.

  • ifyourenotontheroad  On March 5, 2016 at 8:00 am

    How did the hyphen haiku not win?????

  • Chris Freeman  On March 5, 2016 at 12:01 pm

    Brilliant!

  • Kory Stamper  On March 5, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    I still laugh (out loud, even!) at the “could care fewer” haiku. Congrats!

  • patti with an i  On March 8, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Are there some missing links and/or content in this post? “I also took fifth place with this one:” and “These are my efforts from previous years:” do seem to imply that they were intended to provide a path to be followed.

    • Tom Freeman  On March 8, 2016 at 5:17 pm

      There are tweets there. Sorry they’re not showing up for you – that must make the post pointless! I’m afraid I have no idea why they aren’t displaying at your end or how to fix this…

      • patti with an i  On March 10, 2016 at 6:18 pm

        Ah. Probably either the ad-blocker, pop-up blocker, or Flash. Let me tinker a bit.

      • patti with an i  On March 10, 2016 at 6:19 pm

        Ad-blocker was the villain.

  • patti with an i  On March 8, 2016 at 4:05 pm

    Pfffft. I did mean to say “congratulations” too!

  • timwillette  On March 8, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    Congratulations! Thanks for the smile today. Continue to share.

  • timwillette  On March 8, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    Congratulations! Thank you for the smile today. Continue to share

